Fifteen by The Wailin' Jennys
Red House Records
Fifteen by The Wailin' Jennys

The audio for this preview is no longer available.

Purchase Fifteen

The Wailin' Jennys first got together in 2002. It was supposed to be a one-time gig, but the collaboration proved such a success that within a few weeks the trio was dubbed "a bona fide Canadian sensation." They have continued to wow audiences across North America and beyond. As one music critic wrote, "This is about as good as contemporary folk gets." The group's critically acclaimed album 40 Days won a 2005 Juno Award for Best Roots and Traditional Album of the Year. The most recent recording from soprano Ruth Moody, mezzo Nicky Mehta, and alto Heather Masse is 2009's The Wailin' Jennys -- Live at the Mauch Chunk Opera House (Red House).

One of today's most respected folk groups, The Wailin' Jennys are releasing their first new recording in six years, Fifteen. This long-awaited follow-up to Bright Morning Stars finds the trio bringing their passion and stellar musicianship to a carefully curated collection of some of their favorite songs, including tracks by Tom Petty, Emmylou Harris and Dolly Parton. For members Nicky Mehta, Ruth Moody and Heather Masse, Fifteen celebrates a 15-year musical partnership that has created three award-winning, Billboard-charting studio albums and one magical live recording and brought them a loyal worldwide fanbase.

NPR wrote of their last Newport Folk Fest appearance, "The Wailin' Jennys are more than just impeccable bluegrass harmonizers; they're also terrific bandleaders who give their traditional roots music a sense of real reverence." It's this respect for their craft, as well as the Wailin' Jennys heartfelt, impeccable vocal performances, that has cemented the trio's reputation in folk and roots music circles.

Fifteen track listing:

  • Old Churchyard
  • Wildflowers
  • The Valley
  • Light of a Clear Blue Morning
  • Love Me Like a Rock
  • Boulder to Birmingham
  • Not Alone
  • Keep Me in Your Heart
  • Weary Blues from Waitin'

"Light of a Clear Blue Morning" from A Prairie Home Companion, as filmed by The Wailin' Jennys


Fifteen will be released on October 27, 2017 via Red House Records and is available for pre-order now at iTunes or Amazon

Latest News

Visit The Wailin' Jennys website or Red House Records for additional information and touring schedule.